Management Changes 2016

The following rotational changes in the management of our Society took place in 2016:


Minoru Ono, M.D. of the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery at the University of Tokyo, moved to President of our Society.


Marvin J. Slepian, Professor of Medicine – Cardiology, Professor and Associate Department Head - BioMedical Engineering, McGuire Scholar - Eller College of Management and Director, ACABI – Arizona Center for Accelerated BioMedical Innovation - all at the University of Arizonamoves to Immediate Past President of our Society.


Ulrich Steinseifer, Professor and Head of the Department for Cardiovascular Engineering at the Helmholtz Institute of the RWTH Aachen University, moves to Past President of our Society.


Dr. Cumaraswamy Sivathasan, Co-Director of the Heart and Lung Transplant Programme at the National Heart Centre Singapore, Programme Director for the Mechanical Heart Device Programme and is a Visiting Consultant with the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery at National Heart Centre Singapore, was elected President-Elect.


We welcome the new Board members Kiyotaka Fukamachi, Kenji Yamazaki and Hirofumi Anai in the management of our Society, and thank Kurt Dasse, Tadashi Motomura and Yusuke Abe for their great contribution during the past years.