Awards and scholarships

The following awards and scholarships are granted at our annual conferences:

Helmut Reul Young Investigator Award
This award is open to young investigators below 35 years old, who have submitted at least one successful abstract. The top 5 scorers of the abstracts will make their presentations on Day 1, after the Opening Ceremony. The judges appointed by the board will select the award winner. The winner will receive USD1, 000 together with a plaque made in Aachen, Germany, during the President’s Report Session.

Sezai Award
The award is sponsored by Professor Y. Sezai of Nihon University and awarded to the individual who contributes to the most innovative paper. There is no age restriction for this award. The winner will receive US $500.

Asia Pacific ISRBP Young Investigator Award
This award is open to young investigators below 35 years old from Asia Pacific to promote rotary blood technology in Asia Pacific. The award will be based on scores received from the eligible presentations at the congress. The award is sponsored by Professor Setsuo Takatani.

ISRBP Poster Award
The best poster will be decided by the judges selected from the board members.

ICMT (International Center for Medical Technology) Award
ICMT award will be given to the industry or the researcher who made the most outstanding contribution to the development of rotary blood pumps decided by the Congress President and presented by Professor Yukihiko Nosé during the Congress Banquet. The award comes with a statue called "Calling for a Buffalo".

ISRBP Young Researcher Scholarship
An annual scholarship is granted to promote advancement in the field of rotary blood pumps and particularly to promote international cooperation within research groups. The scholarship carries a stipend of US $5.000 and is offered to a young researcher who pursues an excellent project in a joint cooperation between two institutions. The applicant must be younger than 35 years (as of July 1, of that year) and a member of the ISRBP (or become a member at the time of application).